After long time I had the time to visit GNU Ghost. It was a dead project till now and I have to revive it. Something had gone wrong, we had lost passion and interest. Much of it can be attributed to my lack of depth of knowledge in neural networks. I had the passion but not the skill, others had the skill, but may be not the passion or I did not motivate them much.

Code completion is super important in future of programming. I feel it’s too dangerous to leave it in the hands of proprietary for profit companies, we can never know what data they see, what data they take to their servers in the name of making programming experience convenient.

Whats my knowledge now

I need to understand in and out of neural networks, then I need to see how Tabnine used GPT to achieve what it achieved. Then I need to see if I can muster the server resources to train a Ghost Model for code completion, else I must look into some kind of distributed training where volunteers can donate computing resources to train GNU Ghost. Can I do it? I don’t know, but being a die hard free software evangelist, I feel I must try. I need all encouragement I could get to do it. Plus this has to be balanced with my regular job so do not expect much.

Currently I am reading grokking Deep Learning to understand more.

Apart from that, nothing much.

Do I need money?

Money is good, it makes life comfortable, I can hire people for Ghost development if there is enough, but what if one pays only to find that down the line we have failed to deliver? I am afraid of that. That’s what keeps me from asking the crowd to fund. But yes, if you can give money do so, but don’t blame me if I do not deliver, I am not rich enough to have a predictable and definite future. I am only rich in dreams and ideas, but not rich enough in wealth to challenge the companies funded by big money. So expect me to fail even if you have donated with hope and all good heart.

In case if you want to donate here is our Patreon and here is our Bitcoin:

bc1q2tlcdff6j7kzpj9kz9f2x83pj367qfhtrzd6cn

Volunteering

Yes, I need volunteers, I am desperate to meet people with similar interest who would lend me coding and social networking help so that I can reach out to more, show some progress and get ideas how to make life of programmers better. So incase if you want to volunteer, do write to gnughost@protonmail.com

– Karthikeyan A K (For GNU Ghost)